The Casual Vacancy

I’m falling in love with J.K. Rowling’s writing all over again…

If you haven’t heard about the Casual Vacancy yet, let me be the first to enlighten you: it’s Rowling’s completely-unrelated-to-Harry-Potter-but-still-fantastic-of-course novel about a long series of characters living in a small town in the United Kingdom. (Pagford, to be exact.)

God, it’s amazing.

I mean, sure, it’s one of those books I shouldn’t technically be reading, considering the “sensitive” material and my own young age, but I’m so glad that I decided to rebel and read it anyway. I can’t even begin to describe how much I love this book.

It’s not even that profound. It’s pretty much just a bunch of messed-up citizens stuck inside their own little world, trying to make a difference while retaining their individuality and hiding their secrets. But the fact that there are so many different characters, so many different stories, so many different emotions leading up to this enormous crescendo…

Rowling deserves every possible award for this damn thing.

Leave a Reply

