Unsteady

I plan on complaining right now. Go figure, right?

So, for those who don’t know (and none of you do), I have an absolutely shitty relationship with my mom. I suppose that there have been a couple pretty big mistakes I’ve made that lended to this, but all in all I’m not honestly that bad of a kid, in comparison to some of the crap people I know do. I mean, I spend 80% of my free time writing. There’s not much trouble to get into just writing all the time (unless you’re somebody like E. L. James, who I am most certainly not).

And, seriously, I’m fifteen. I’m supposed to make stupid mistakes and fall in love and ignore authority and figure out who the hell I am as an individual.

There’s a lot done in my house that severely undermines my ability to figure that out. First of all, the laptop I’m working right now is sitting in my kitchen. In my kitchen. You try enjoying some (occasionally naughty) fanfiction while you’re sitting in your goddamn kitchen with your parents and two siblings walking past constantly. Second, my mom has some spy software on the computer that gives her access to everything I do online. I don’t know the extent of what she can and cannot see, but let me just point out that she’s made an account on almost every single website I’m on just to keep up with what I’m doing. Third, I’m not allowed to go anywhere. It takes a million years of begging and pleading to do anything, and even then I often have to pull out of whatever the plans were at the last minute. I haven’t gone anywhere with friends, just me and friends, since January. I haven’t had a sleepover since December of 2012. Fourth, I have no privacy. My parents come into my room at all hours of the night and occasionally decide to ransack my belongings. These are seriously a few grains of salt to the dozens of other examples I could give.

But I seriously think I’ve reached the end of my rope.

I’ve known for a while that Mom gets a notification whenever I text or get a text. She uses it to make sure I’m not texting during school, which I guess I sort of understand but at the same time, if my teachers don’t care then I personally don’t think she should, either.

However, it has recently come to my attention that Mom also has the ability to read every. single. one. of my text messages.

Of course, my first thought was an enormous Oh. Fuck. My second thought was a garbled mess. My third: Garrett’s going to panic.

See, I’m a teenager. I like to flirt with my boyfriend and complain to my best friends and discuss sex and tattoos and moving out and college and I curse. A lot. More than all that, though, I like to have a little bit of fucking privacy.

I’m not perfect. Nor have I ever pretended to be. But this… this crosses a line. When my thoughts and my emotions can’t be private, I’m ready to fuck over everything and just leave.

Leave a Reply

